Thursday, 21 January 2010

Australian legends get stamp of approval....

Australian literary legends are to become the latest figures to be immortalised in stamp form. The writers featured include Booker Prize winner Peter Carey, and Bryce Courtenay, author of 'Power in One'. Arguably the most famous of the 'Australian Legends of the Written Word' series, is Thomas Keneally, author of 'Schindler's Ark'. He commented that the honour 'reminds you of all the teachers who said "you'll never go anywhere, son"', adding  that he was 'glad they are self-adhesive because it prevents jokes about licking their backside'. Tim Winton, Coleen McCullough and David Malouf are also recognised for 'their outstanding contribution to the social and cultural life' of Australia.

No comments:

Post a comment