Tuesday, 5 January 2010

Colm, Cappuccinos and Costa...

The shortlist for the Costa Book of the Year 2009 has been announced. Made up from the winners of the award's original five categories - novel, first novel, poetry, biography and children's book - the candidates have each already pocketed £5,000. Included on the list is Irish writer Colm Toibin, who beat Booker prize winner Hilary Mantel to best novel, Patrick Ness, Christopher Reid, Raphael Selbourne and Graham Farmelo. Janine Cook, fiction buyer at book retailer Waterstone's, said: 'The Costa never fails to pick an eclectic bunch of winners, and this year is no exception'. The winner of the £30,000 prize is set to be announced on January 26th.

No comments:

Post a comment