Tuesday, 19 January 2010

Philip's talent no Gross exaggeration...

The latest winner of the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry has been announced. Philip Gross beat off competition from Sinead Morrissey and Hugo Williams to succeed Jen Hadfield as the 2009 winner. He was honoured for 'The Water Table', a collection inspired by the Bristol Channel, and one which judging panel chair Simon Armitage said showed 'great clarity and concentration'. The award, founded in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society and its founder T.S. Eliot, comes with a monetary prize of £15,000; the largest sum awarded in poetry.

No comments:

Post a comment