Sunday, 13 December 2009

Potatoes, peel and pie...

The winner of The Times WHSmith Paperback of the Year Award has been announced. Among shortlisted names of Aravind Adiga, C.J. Sansom and Barack Obama, it was Mary Ann Schaffer and her epistolary novel 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society', that came out on top. The judges said of the novel; 'We live in a culture that stresses dysfunction and cynicism. This book is not about that at all — it is about love and friendship and the ability of these qualities to survive adversity'. The first UK award specifically for paperbacks, The Times WHSmith Paperback of the Year award was set up in September and included authors Alexander McCall Smith and Erica Wagner as well as WHSmith buyer Sandra Bradley as judges.

No comments:

Post a comment