Monday, 1 February 2010

Better late than never...

Authors whose books were published in the year of 1970 are set to gain the recognition they deserve. One of the most illustrious literary awards, the Man Booker Prize, has come to the realisation that a change in their rules forty years ago, denied the likes of Iris Murdoch and Melvyn Bragg from ever becoming recipients. The award traditonally honoured books published in the previous year, yet in 1971, it was decided that instead it would be given to the best novel published in that year, rendering 1970 to be lost in statisitcs. Now organisers will redress the balance with a special award; 'The Lost Man Booker Prize'. The director of the initiative has described 1970 as a 'remarkable year for fiction written in English', saying that 'recognition for these novels and the eventual winner is long overdue'. The longlist includes names such as Muriel Spark, Iris Murdoch, David Lodge, Melvyn Bragg and Nina Bawden. After the shortlist announcment in March, public voting through the Man Booker website will determine the overall winner to be revealed in May.

No comments:

Post a comment