Thursday, 7 October 2010

Nobel Prize 2010...

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa, has been awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature. The first South American winner of the prize since 1982, Vargas Llosa first thought the announcement was a joke. His career has not been easy, but following book burnings and a bitter personal feud with a fellow writer, Vargas Llosa has published 30 plays, novels and essays, translated into 31 languages - the best known of which include, 'The Time of he Hero', and 'The Green House'. Hailed for his 'cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat', Vargas Llosa will receive a 10 million kroner reward.

No comments:

Post a comment